New Stall Numbering for UK Flat 2011
From the start of the new Flat racing season 2011 (30 March 2011), revised stall numbering has been introduced at right-handed racetracks in the UK.
At these tracks starting stalls will be numbered in ascending order from left to right (looking at stalls from behind). Previously starting stalls were number from left to right. A low draw will now be on the inside and a high draw on the outside. This measure is effective for all races. The position of the stalls on the track will remain unchanged.
The courses affected by this new system are:
Ascot, Beverley, Carlisle, Folkestone, Goodwood, Hamilton, Kempton, Leicester, Musselburgh, Newmarket (both courses), Ripon, Salisbury, Sandown, and Windsor
The new changes have an impact on those gamblers who study the draw bias at different tracks. Gamblers who keep their own records on draw numbers of winning horses will have to alter their databases.
If a course had a draw bias in a particular category of race, then this bias is now reversed under the new system e.g. a low draw bias under the old system will now be a high draw bias under the revised numbering system.